TTU Home Department of Geosciences, Atmospheric Science Group

Texas Tech Atmospheric Science Group

Welcome to the home page of the Atmospheric Science Group at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas. We are part of the Geosciences Department which is in the College of Arts and Sciences. We are physically located on the 12th floor of the Media and Communication building. Our group maintains a strong commitment to both teaching and research in Atmospheric Science.

We offer a program of study leading to the Master of Science degree in Atmospheric Science and the Ph.D. degree in Geosciences. In addition, courses in Atmospheric Science are offered at the undergraduate level to meet the general education requirements at Texas Tech University. A minor in Atmospheric Science is offered for both B.S. and B.A. students

Latest News


The U.S. Department of Energy awarded $1.4 million to Texas Tech researchers to develop a new radar prototype specifically designed to measure wind flow in wind farms. Dr. John Schroeder, Professor in the Atmospheric Science Group, discusses this project in an article found HERE.

May 2014

Dr. Jennifer Vanos, Assistant Professor in the Atmospheric Science Group at Tech, received one of only 35 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards for research from Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU). She was selected from 134 applicants. The $5,000 award from ORAU will be matched by an equal amount from Texas Tech.


Dr. John Schroeder, Professor of Atmospheric Science and Director of the National Wind Institute, was selected as an Integrated Scholar for 2014 at Texas Tech. An interview with Dr. Schroeder can be found here. Additional information on the Integrated Scholar program at Texas Tech can be found here.


Nick Smith, graduate student in the Atmospheric Science Group, was selected as a winner in the Fifth Conference on Weather, Climate and the New Energy Economy Student Competition. The competition was held during the American Meteorological Society's 94th annual meeting in Atlanta, GA. Nick's abstract, "Ensemble Sensitivity Analysis of Wind Ramps", won the award for Best Oral Presentation.


Dr. Eric Bruning, Assistant Professor of Atmospheric Science in the Department of Geosciences at Texas Tech, has been awarded an NSF CAREER grant. The 5-year project, titled "Thunderstorm Electrical Energy Structure, Dissipation, and Visualization", will support two years of field observations in 2015 and 2016. Comparison of turbulence data from high-resolution Doppler radars to lightning flash rate and extent will test the hypothesis that turbulent convective motions are the source of electrical energy in storms, and that those motions are a primary control on the size of lightning flashes as they organize a thunderstorm's charge.

In an era of increasing computational resources and emphasis on data management and digital knowledge dissemination, this project will train students to adopt best practices in reproducible scientific research using open, pan-disciplinary tools enabled by dispersed, diverse internet-based communities. Working with the Texas Tech School of Art, the rich textural character of lightning and thunderstorm motions will be conveyed to the public in an immersive gallery exhibit derived from field data.

National Science Foundation Award

Drs. Brian Hirth and John Schroeder have been awarded funding by the NSF CBET program for their proposal titled, "Building the Foundation for Smart Wind Farms through First-Order Controls Opportunities based on Real-Time Observations of Complex Flows". Over the next three years, this project will utilize the TTUKa radars to provide innovative data collection technologies, strategies, and analysis techniques to document the complex flow fields across several operational wind farms. Through industrial partnerships, this information will be integrated with operational turbine data and first-order controls to construct and test transformative methods for developing the first generation of "smart" wind farms.

Dr. Weiss Receives Grant

Dr. Chris Weiss, Associate Professor of Atmospheric Science, received an award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research for a project entitled "Energy-Aware Aerial Systems for Persistent Sampling and Surveillance". A collaborative effort with the University of Colorado and the University of Nebraska, this work will integrate mobile Doppler radar and unmanned aerial system technologies to create an energy-aware, airborne, data-driven system for persistent sensing in complex atmospheric comditions. Applications of this integration will include sampling of environments preceding deep convection initiation and within severe thunderstorms.

Dr. Schroeder Receives Award

Dr. John Schroeder, Associate Professor of Atmospheric Science and Director, Wind Science and Engineering (WiSE) Research Center at Texas Tech is the recipient of the 2012 IAWE (International Association of Wind Engineering) Junior Award. Dr. Schroeder received the award for his great contibutions to the wind engineering community.

Archived News

Online Institutional Resumes

State of Texas | Statewide Search | Texas Homeland Security | Texas Veterans Portal | SAO Fraud Reporting | Energy Management | General Policy Information

TTU Home | TTU System | TTU Health Sciences Center | Angelo State University | TTU Health Sciences Center at El Paso | Contact Us

©2007 Texas Tech University | All Rights Reserved | Updated: